From reading to speaking tone

One only gets to the top rung on the ladder by steadily climbing up one at a time. And suddenly all sorts of things which you thought at first, all sorts of powers, all sorts of abilities which you thought never belonged to you, suddenly come within your own possibility and you think, well, I’ll have a go too.” – Margaret Thatcher

I liked this quote and thought it would make a nice thought for the day for Toastmasters meeting. And then I thought well the quote is long enough that it would justify reading from a note and not rote.

And then I recalled all those steely voices, where words are uttered and sentences stopped to begin the next but the reader is left out. Thinking on these lines, I feel that when it is not a quote, telling the written matter in front of you with your own take and interpreting it on the spot will add uniqueness as well as natural emotion to it.

Try it out and let me know how it works out for you. I will share my experiments too.

 

Leave a Reply

